Board & Staff

SAA Board of Directors

Beth Cantrell

Beth Cantrell, Chair

Send Message

Esther Fellows

Esther Fellows, Secretary

Mounds, OK
Phone: 918-366-4770
[javascript protected email address]

Holly Blackwelder Carpenter

Holly Blackwelder Carpenter

College Place, WA
[javascript protected email address]

Michael Bogomolny

Michael Bogomolny

Washington, DC
Send Message

Mary Halverson Waldo

Mary Halverson Waldo

Columbia, SC
Phone: 803-929-2660
[javascript protected email address]

Ellen Kogut

Ellen Kogut

Montréal, QC
[javascript protected email address]

Winifred Crock

Winifred Crock

Send Message

Pam Brasch

Pam Brasch, CO, CEO, ex officio

Send Message

Board Policies

SAA Board Governance Policies

SAA Board Nominations
The SAA Board Nominating Committee is chaired by the Board Chair-Elect and 3-4 additional Board members. The Committee seeks candidates year-round for SAA Board membership. The Board Nominating Committee encourages experienced teachers, parents and professionals who have legal, financial, marketing or administrative experience to seek nominations for the Board. These candidates should represent the SAA membership with vision and dedication to the Suzuki Philosophy.

The Board Nominating Committee sets goals for filling immediate vacancies at its fall and winter meetings. Consideration is given to balance and current Board needs. Nominees are interviewed and a balanced slate is assembled for the spring election, as specified by the Bylaws (Sect. 4.7). Generally Board members elected by May 1 by member vote begin service on August 1 and serve 3-year terms.(Bylaws Sect.4.1.c)

To fill vacancies, nominations are being sought for Board appointments beginning in October, 2020, until September 28, 2020, using the following process:

Board Nomination info

SAA Staff


The Suzuki Association of the Americas is a member of the International Suzuki Association. For more information about the ISA visit the website at

Honorary Board

Jeanne Baxtresser
Former Principal Flute, New York Philharmonic

Martin Beaver
Formerly Tokyo String Quartet, Montrose Trio, Colburn School of Music, Los Angeles, CA

Robert A. Duke, PhD
Marlene and Morton Meyerson Centennial Professor in Music and Human Leaning , University of Texas Butler School of Music, Austin, TX

Carol Dweck, PhD
Lewis & Virginia Eaton Professor of Psychology, Stanford University, Stanford, CA

Timothy Eddy
Cellist, The Juilliard School and Mannes College, New York, NY

Brian Ganz
Pianist, St. Mary’s College of Baltimore, MD and Peabody Conservatory

Paul Kantor
Sallie Shepherd Perkins Professor of Violin, Rice University Shepherd School of Music, Houston, TX

Dr. Kay Collier McLaughlin
Leadership and design consultant and author, Former Suzuki teacher and teacher trainer, KY

Shoji Tabuchi
Violinist & Entertainer Branson, MO

Laurel J Trainor Ph.D.
Director, McMaster Institute for Music & the Mind, McMaster University, Hamilton, ON, Canada

Benjamin Verdery
Guitarist & Composer, Yale University, New Haven, CT

Emeritus Honorary Board

Dr. James Garbarino
Maude C. Clarke Chair in Humanistic Psychology Loyola University, Chicago, IL

Dr. Richard Miller
President, Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering, Needham, MA

Jung-Ho Pak
Music Director, San Diego Chamber Orchestra and World Youth Symphony Orchestra

Dr. Roger H. Sublett
Leadership Scholar, President, Union Institute and University, Cincinnati, OH