English Español Português Français

Thanks to all who attended! We have a few recorded sessions posted online for We Are Suzuki participants, and will be adding more soon.

Recorded videos

Additional resources (transcripts and articles)


We Are Suzuki Session Schedule


Thursday, May 26

Translations will be available during the sessions! See how at this link.
Additional Resources available at this link.

Teacher Trainer SPA Facilitation Training 8a-12p PT | 10-2p CT |11a-3p ET

Led by current SPA Facilitators
The SAA aims to increase the pool of SPA facilitators by offering an online SPA Facilitation Training session on May 26 and at future dates TBA. Please refer to the Teacher Trainer email & read all details and to RSVP. Additionally, please note that while our courses—SPA and ECC—may undergo some changes in the near future, we plan to offer courses in a timely manner. We hope that you’ll consider taking this training if you’re interested.

SAA Community Gathering 9a-10a PT | 11a-12p CT | 12p-1p ET

Facilitated by Angelica Cortez
Description: Community Gatherings have been a space for members to gather and hear from Angelica on questions submitted by members. For this session, Angelica wants to hear from members more directly! We’ll collaborate together to answer the questions: What’s going well? What needs to be improved (tweaked & improved), What do we need to change (get rid of), and how can we best meet the SAA’s mission to improve the quality of life through Suzuki Education? If you can’t make it to this session, don’t worry. There will be additional opportunities for sessions similar to this in the coming months.

Teacher Trainer Meet & Greet 1p-2p PT | 3p-4p CT | 4p-5p ET

Facilitated by Angelica Cortez
Description: Teacher Training is core to the Suzuki Association. Over the last few years, we haven’t had many opportunities to come together. Part of the hour will be spent just to connect with our new Executive Director, and part of this time will be used for teacher trainers to connect with one another. We look forward to seeing you there!

Lightning Sessions! 2:30p-3:30p PT | 4:30p-5:30p CT | 5:30p-6:30p ET

Featuring:
Meredith Connie: “Fostering the Conscious Pause: Moving Towards Anxiety-Free Self-Correction”
Juliana Lima Verde: “Vamos tocar? Curso de Férias para Violinistas—Um relato de experiência sobre as aulas em grupo em formato remoto no Brasil” (Let’s Play? Violinists Vacation Course—An experience report about group classes in remote format in Brazil)
Marla Majett: “This Little Light of Mine: Continuing the Legacies of Dr. Suzuki’s Philosophy and Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr’s Vision of the Beloved Community”

Description: Each lightning session will feature three SAA members! Sessions will focus on what members have done to better music education, the philosophy of Suzuki, and honor and celebrate diversity and inclusion over the course of the last two years. Learn more at the “Call for Proposals” link above. Join us as we celebrate the incredible work of SAA members!

Fireside Chats 4:00p-5p PT | 6:00p-7p CT | 7:00p-8p ET

Panelists: Anne Barley Givler, Fernando Piñero , Bruce Walker
Hosted by Carrie Reuning-Hummel
Description: Grab your favorite drink and join us around the virtual fire! We’re kicking off a series of stories around a virtual bonfire! We believe that Suzuki is living and breathing within our community. Fireside Chats are an opportunity for members to hear from panelists about their stories. You’ll hear members of the SAA answer four key questions: (1) What hooked you into Suzuki, (2) What’s one specific way or thing from the Suzuki philosophy that shows up in your teaching practice every day, (3) How is embracing Dr. Suzuki’s philosophy infused in your life? How do you steward the philosophy of Dr. Suzuki, and (4) What’s the future of the approach, philosophy, or method?. Members will have time to ask questions at the end of the discussion. Fireside Chats will be kicked off during We are Suzuki, but will continue throughout the year because we know there is a wide range of people, instruments, regions, ideas, and topics that need to be shared. We aim to continue these sessions throughout the year so that we can hear from as many perspectives as possible. This is only the beginning.


Friday, May 27

Translations will be available during the sessions! See how at this link.
Additional Resources available at this link.

Teacher Trainers Evaluation Training 8a-12p PT | 10a-2p CT |11a-3p ET

Description: This online session is for Teacher Trainers who were approved after May 2019, plus any trainer who would like a refresher on the aspects of evaluating Teacher Trainer applications. All trainers are encouraged to attend evaluation training as part of the SAA Teacher Trainer responsibilities and one’s service towards increasing the pool of evaluators. To attend, please RSVP by May 20.

This session is intended for Teacher Trainers
Register via the Teacher Trainer email, or simply email [javascript protected email address] if you need further information!

Lightning Sessions! 12:30p-1:30p PT | 2:30p-3:30p CT | 3:30p-4:30p ET

Featuring:
Liza Barley: “Hop Hop Creative Orchestra: Pittsburgh’s Answer to bringing Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility Together”
Katie Perry: “We are a Rainbow: A Quick Introduction to Gender Diversity for Music Teachers”
Laura Sinclair: “Autonomy: How Putting my Students in the Driver’s Seat Helped us all Thrive in the Pandemic”
Description: Each lightning session will feature three SAA members! Sessions will focus on what members have done to better music education, the philosophy of Suzuki, and honor and celebrate diversity and inclusion over the course of the last two years. Learn more at the “Call for Proposals” link above. Join us as we celebrate the incredible work of SAA members!

Fireside Chats 2p-3p PT | 4p-5p CT | 5p-6p ET

Panelists: Teri Einfeldt, Leslie Mizrahi, Laura Nerenberg
Hosted by Carrie Reuning-Hummel
Description: Bring your favorite drink and join us around the virtual bonfire! We’re kicking off a series of stories! We believe that Suzuki is living and breathing within our community. Fireside Chats are an opportunity for members to hear from panelists about their stories. You’ll hear members of the SAA answer four key questions: (1) What hooked you into Suzuki, (2) What’s one specific way or thing from the Suzuki philosophy that shows up in your teaching practice every day, (3) How is embracing Dr. Suzuki’s philosophy infused in your life? How do you steward the philosophy of Dr. Suzuki, and (4) What’s the future of the approach, philosophy, or method?. Members will have time to ask questions at the end of the discussion. Fireside Chats will be kicked off during We are Suzuki, but will continue throughout the year because we know there is a wide range of people, instruments, regions, ideas, and topics that need to be shared. We aim to continue these sessions throughout the year so that we can hear from as many perspectives as possible. This is only the beginning.

Non-Anxious Leadership in an Anxious World 3:30p PT | 5:30p CT | 6:30p ET

Facilitated by Kay Collier McLaughlin
Description: We are navigating a world that is constantly changing, grieving, and often challenging to navigate. As teachers, musicians, artists, and leaders in music education with various identities, we might feel unheard and invalidated, and emotionally and physically exhausted. Identifying stuckness and differentiating how we’re doing personally from our work will allow us to take back our power and lead from our strength rather than our anxiety. Join us in an hour-long workshop that will offer tools that will enable us to better support our students, communities, and each other.

Affinity Group Session 5p-6p PT | 7p-8p CT | 8p-9p ET

Facilitated by Calida Jones
This session is intended for any member of the SAA that identifies as Black, Indigenous, and/or a Person of Color (BIPOC). As an organization, we have committed to the principle that every child can, and the philosophy of Suzuki is one that aims to be inclusive. We also know that there is more we can do as an organization to create a culture of belonging, in particular for BIPOC members, students, and parents. This is a gathering intended for all in our membership who identify as people of color, and who would like space to voice their thoughts on how we can create a safer and more inclusive space within the SAA. This space is intended as a starting point, not an end point. Some of the questions we will ask include (1) What has made it hard to participate in this community, and what are roadblocks for your (and/or BIPOC students and parent) participation? (2) How can the SAA create a safer, more inclusive, more diverse culture? One where everyone belongs? (3) Is it useful for us to have affinity groups in the SAA, and might that contribute to a healthier culture? (4) What continues to bring you back to the SAA, and what brought you in? Thank you in advance to all who are willing to attend.


Saturday, May 28

Translations will be available during the sessions! See how at this link.
Additional Resources available at this link.

Coffee + Tea & Chat 8a-8:45a PT | 10a-10:45a CT | 11a-11:45a ET

An informal check-in for SAA members! Grab a coffee, a tea, or anything you’d like and let’s and chat with no agenda! We’ll use breakout rooms, and give members a chance to say hi to one another, meet each other, and just check in!

Institute Directors Meet & Greet 9a-10a PT | 11a-12p CT | 12p-1p ET

with Angelica Cortez
Description: We know that Institutes are a huge part of the core of the Suzuki experience. Insitute Directors have been a key part of ensuring the Suzuki philosophy reaches many students, teachers, and parents. In this session, Angelica will answer questions submitted by Institute Directors, and also ask questions to Institute Directors, including: (1) What has the SAA done well over the last 5 years to support Institutes? (2) What can the SAA improve on in supporting Institutes? (3) What are 1-2 things you think are doable between now and next summer? (4) We know the model for Institutes, especially in our new post-pandemic online world, presents challenges. Can you name some of the challenges the current model poses? We look forward to this conversation!

Equity-Centered Practice & Suzuki 10:30a-11:30a PT | 12:30p-1:30p CT | 1:30p-2:30p ET

Led by Tiffany Rice
Description: We know Dr. Suzuki’s philosophy: Every Child Can. We also know that some young people and some parents face barriers to accessing and affording quality music education, including our own Suzuki education. Learning music is expensive, it is time-consuming, and at times, it can be exclusive. What can we do? How do we better practice equity? This session aims to give a general understanding of equity, offer some basic tools and strategy for improving your practice, and offer a space to connect with each other about what is working for you in equity-centered practice, and what you hope to improve.

Fireside Chats 12p-1p PT | 2p-3p CT | 3p-4p ET

Panelists: Ronda Cole, Caroline Salisbury, Fabio Dos Santos
Hosted by Carrie Reuning-Hummel
Description: We’re kicking off a series of stories around a virtual bonfire! We believe that Suzuki is living and breathing within our community. Fireside Chats are an opportunity for members to hear from panelists about their stories. You’ll hear members of the SAA answer four key questions: (1) What hooked you into Suzuki, (2) What’s one specific way or thing from the Suzuki philosophy that shows up in your teaching practice every day, (3) How is embracing Dr. Suzuki’s philosophy infused in your life? How do you steward the philosophy of Dr. Suzuki, and (4) What’s the future of the approach, philosophy, or method?. Members will have time to ask questions at the end of the discussion. Fireside Chats will be kicked off during We are Suzuki, but will continue throughout the year because we know there is a wide range of people, instruments, regions, ideas, and topics that need to be shared. We aim to continue these sessions throughout the year so that we can hear from as many perspectives as possible. This is only the beginning.

Lightning Sessions! 1:30p-2:30p PT | 3:30p-4:30p CT | 4:30p-5:30p ET

Featuring:
Edward Kreitman: “Keeping our Performance Group Allegro!!! Engaged During the Pandemic”
Andrea Raza Álvaro: El Diálogo de saberes: Shinichi Suzuki y Paulo Freire (The Dialogue of Knowledge: Shinichi Suzuki and Paulo Freire)
Wendy Tangen-Foster: “Mindfulness in Home Practice: A Practical Approach to Creating Noble Hearts”
Description: Each lightning session will feature three SAA members! Sessions will focus on what members have done to better music education, the philosophy of Suzuki, and honor and celebrate diversity and inclusion over the course of the last two years. Learn more at the “Call for Proposals” link above. Join us as we celebrate the incredible work of SAA members!

Fireside Chats 3p PT | 5p CT | 6p ET

Carol Dallinger, Pat D’Ercole, Nancy Hair
Hosted by Carrie Reuning-Hummel

Description: We’re kicking off a series of stories around a virtual bonfire! We believe that Suzuki is living and breathing within our community. Fireside Chats are an opportunity for members to hear from panelists about their stories. You’ll hear members of the SAA answer four key questions: (1) What hooked you into Suzuki, (2) What’s one specific way or thing from the Suzuki philosophy that shows up in your teaching practice every day, (3) How is embracing Dr. Suzuki’s philosophy infused in your life? How do you steward the philosophy of Dr. Suzuki, and (4) What’s the future of the approach, philosophy, or method?. Members will have time to ask questions at the end of the discussion. Fireside Chats will be kicked off during We are Suzuki, but will continue throughout the year because we know there is a wide range of people, instruments, regions, ideas, and topics that need to be shared. We aim to continue these sessions throughout the year so that we can hear from as many perspectives as possible. This is only the beginning.

In Conversation with Noah Bendix-Balgley Pre-Recorded! See Below!

First Concert Master, Berlin Philharmonic
Honorary Board, Suzuki Association of the Americas


Pre-Recorded & Sessions

View pre-recorded videos


Sponsors

MakeMuisc Alfred Logo
Johnson String Instrument
Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp Logo