Ms. Celine Gietzen

Cello, Violin, Viola, Bass Teacher, Organization

Celine Gietzen

SAA Member


Camarillo, CA
[javascript protected email address]

Celine Gietzen attended the Cleveland Institute of Music, one of the most prestigious conservatories in the nation, with a merit-based scholarship as a student of Alan Harris.  In 1997 she received a Bachelor of Music degree in Cello Performance and was elected to the Dean’s List.  She received a Master of Music degree from UCLA on full scholarship in 2009 as a student of Antonio Lysy.  One of her most influential teachers has been Dr. Richard Naill of the Colburn School of Performing Arts.  Mrs. Gietzen has performed professionally in many orchestras and chamber groups.  She has been engaged to perform solo and chamber music recitals by many organizations including the Music Teachers’ Association of California (MTAC), the Camarillo Chamber of Commerce, the Arrowhead Arts Association, and the Classical Encounters Foundation.  She has also explored other genres in performing alongside such popular artists as Harry Connick Jr. and Donna Summer.  Mrs. Gietzen has been teaching since 1986, and she currently has a full studio of private cello students in Camarillo.  She is also a faculty member of the Junior Chamber Music program.  Her students have been awarded college scholarships, have won competitions, have received honors in the Certificate of MeritTM program, regularly achieve principal chair in student orchestras, and have been chosen to perform in the MTAC state convention.  She adjudicates for competitions, scholarship auditions, and the MTAC Certificate of MeritTM program.  Mrs. Gietzen published a series of 48 music theory workbooks for violin, viola, cello, and bass entitled Core Music Theory for String Players.  These are being sold throughout the United States.  She is an active member of the Music Teachers’ Association of California, The American String Teachers’ Association, and The Channel Islands Chamber Orchestra.  Mrs. Gietzen performs on a cello made in 1990 by Hans Benning.