The Board of the SAA is pleased to announce that Jeanne Baxtresser, flutist, has accepted to serve on its Honorary Board. Principal flutist of three major orchestras including the Montreal Symphony and Toronto Symphony, Ms. Baxtresser’s orchestral career culminated with 15 years as principal flutist of the New York Philharmonic, under conductors Leonard Bernstein, Zubin Mehta, and Kurt Masur.

Recipient of the National Flute Association’s Lifetime Achievement award for significant lasting contributions to the flute world, she has also been awarded the National Medal of Arts by the Interlochen Center for the Arts. Ms. Baxtresser has been on faculty at the Julliard School and the Manhattan School of Music and ten years ago was appointed the Vira I. Heinz Professor of Flute at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh. Since then she has been awarded the University’s most distinguished professorial position, University Professor.

Jeanne Baxtresser has had an exceptional career as recitalist, concerto soloist, and chamber musician, and has produced numerous recordings. Her first book, Orchestral Excerpts for Flute with Piano Accompaniment with CD, has become a vital part of flute pedagogy.

Congratulations to the Suzuki flute community for their outstanding choice of an honorary board member to join the outstanding group of musicians, educators, and high profile personalities who support the legacy of Dr. Suzuki and the goals of the SAA.

For more information about Jeanne Baxtresser see